itk Contact
Press-Contact
Christian Thomas

Tel. +49 89 / 82 08 598-334

E-Mail: christian.thomas@itk-engineering.de

Vorträge & Fachmessen

Webinar: UNECE WP.29 and ISO/SAE 21434: Cybersecurity Engineering tailored for Commercial Vehicles | Online

Cybersecurity gains importance with the connectivity and autonomous driving trends in the automotive industry. This is recognized by the upcoming UNECE cybersecurity regulation and the planned release of the ISO/SAE 21434 – a standard on cyber security engineering for road vehicles – by the end of 2020. Both, the regulation and the standard, require commercial vehicle companies to establish a proper process for cybersecurity engineering. It is expected that such a process will be mandatory for vehicles that are put on the road from 2022 on. For commercial vehicle OEMs and suppliers, this raises the question of what needs to be done to be compliant and how to get there.

Even companies that have already established security engineering processes face the challenge of balancing time-budget-quality trade-offs for their individual components and products. The challenge for engineering departments is to tailor the methodologies that are used to produce the process artifacts since the processes are typically flexible and do not prescribe the used methodology to the last detail. This flexibility is good and intended to account for the diversity of products within a company but induces the need for individual interpretation. In consequence, this means nearly any development department in any domain has to deal with cybersecurity and tailor its specific approach. No matter if chassis, power train or ADAS.

In this webinar, we provide a brief introduction to the upcoming regulation and the ISO/SAE 21434 standard. Based on that, we share insights on how we have successfully established and implemented security engineering processes to the engineering departments of our customers. Particularly, we share the pros and cons of various approaches to implement cybersecurity methodologies that we have supported.

 

 

Detailed information on the handling of user data can be found in our privacy policy.

itk Kontakt
Presse-Kontakt
Christian Thomas

Tel. +49 89 / 82 08 598-334

E-Mail: christian.thomas@itk-engineering.de

Vorträge & Fachmessen

29.10.2020

Webinar: UNECE WP.29 and ISO/SAE 21434: Cybersecurity Engineering tailored for Commercial Vehicles | Online

 
Cyber Security gewinnt mit der zunehmenden Vernetzung und Automatisierung in der Automobilindustrie immer mehr an Bedeutung. Dies adressiert die künftige UNECE Cyber Security Regulierung und ein für Ende 2020 geplantes Release der ISO/SAE 21434 – einem Standard für Cyber Security Engineering für Straßenfahrzeuge. Sowohl die Verordnung als auch der Standard erfordern, dass Nutzfahrzeugunternehmen einen ordnungsgemäßen Prozess für Cyber Security Engineering etablieren. Solch ein Prozess wird voraussichtlich für alle neuen Straßenfahrzeuge ab 2022 verpflichtend sein. Für Commercial Vehicle OEMs und Zulieferer stellt sich daher die Frage, wie der Standard adäquat und effizient umgesetzt werden kann.

Auch Unternehmen, die bereits einen Security Engineering Prozess etabliert haben, stehen vor der Herausforderung die Balance zwischen Zeit, Kosten und Qualität für ihre individuellen Komponenten und Produkte zu finden. Die Herausforderung für Entwicklungsabteilungen ist, Methoden zur Erzeugung der Prozess-Artefakte vor dem Hintergrund individueller Randbedingungen aufzubauen, da die Prozesse typischerweise flexibel gestaltet sind und keine Methodik bis ins letzte Detail vorgeschrieben ist. Diese Flexibilität ist gut und berücksichtigt die Vielfalt der Produkte innerhalb eines Unternehmens, aber es bedarf einer individuellen Interpretation. Folglich heißt das, dass fast jede Entwicklungsabteilung einer Domäne mit Cyber Security in Berührung kommt – egal ob Chassis, Antrieb oder ADAS.

In diesem Webinar bieten wir eine kurze Einführung in die künftige UNECE Regulierung und den ISO/SAE21434 Standard. Basierend darauf geben wir Einblicke, wie wir Security Engineering Prozesse für unsere Kunden in Entwicklungsabteilungen erfolgreich aufgebaut und integriert haben. Besonders gehen wir dabei auf die Vor- und Nachteile verschiedener Ansätze zur Implementierung von Cyber Security Methodiken ein.

 

 

Detaillierte Informationen zum Umgang mit Nutzerdaten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.